Microprocessing

Will the Apple Watch’s Hand-Washing Reminders Actually Work?

Here’s how experts say to design ‘nudges’ that actually work — and their thoughts on Apple’s new feature

Angela Lashbrook
OneZero
Published in
7 min readJul 9, 2020

--

Apple Watch on a table.
An Apple Watch Series 3 smartwatch. Photo: Neil Godwin/T3 Magazine/Future/Getty Images

I always thought I was pretty good at washing my hands, but when the pandemic began and hand-washing became an issue of life and death, it became starkly obvious that a quick scrub with hand soap was not enough. I got onboard the intense, 20-second hand-washing train, and I probably haven’t had hands this clean since I left food service.

But lately, I’ve felt myself slipping up, washing my hands for 10 seconds instead of 20, then having to go back and do the whole thing over again. As New York has begun to ease up on its stay-at-home orders, I’ve subconsciously followed suit by drifting back to my lazy hand-washing habits. It’s taking a conscious effort to remember to sing happy birthday to myself twice in a row before I’m done at the sink.

So when Apple announced at WWDC that it’s created an Apple Watch feature specifically to encourage better hand-washing habits, I was intrigued, but dubious that it would have much of an effect. How much of an impact can a vibrating Apple Watch with a bubble-letter countdown have on my hand hygiene? And for that matter, how effective…

--

--

Angela Lashbrook
OneZero

I’m a columnist for OneZero, where I write about the intersection of health & tech. Also seen at Elemental, The Atlantic, VICE, and Vox. Brooklyn, NY.