Why You’re So Terrible at Backing Up Your Data

Like all things that are good for you, backing up stinks

Simon Pitt
OneZero

--

Photo: Andrew Balcombe/EyeEm/Getty Images

Every few years I have a panic about losing everything, and in a flurry of activity, I buy hard drives, blank DVDs, and subscriptions to cloud storage services. Then, because I am a geek, I concoct incomprehensible command-line scripts to perform backups. I write commands in a jumble of slashes, colons, and letters:

robocopy "D:\" "H:\D" /MIR /FFT /R:3 /W:10 /Z /NP /NDL

Even as I’m writing these, I’m aware that I will have no idea what they do in a day’s time, let alone when I next come to look at them, years later, in a backup-induced panic. And yet, every time, I fall into the trap of thinking that the more complex and impenetrable the backup, the better the backup. This is flagrantly false and doesn’t stand up to the tiniest bit of scrutiny, but still, I feel satisfied with a good day’s backing up, even if I haven’t backed up any actual, you know, data.

The problem with backing up is that it is work you don’t want to ever use. You…

--

--

Simon Pitt
OneZero

Media techie, software person, and web-stuff doer. Head of Corporate Digital at BBC, but views my own. More at pittster.co.uk