What Will Kill Podcasting?

It’s probably not what you think

Tom Webster
OneZero

--

Photo: avdyachenko/Getty Images

TThe New York Times posted an article last week entitled “Have We Hit Peak Podcast?” For the record, though, I got a brief quote in the article, and I don’t think we have. I just think producing a quality, audience-focused podcast is hard. But podcasting as we know it is very much alive and well.

Still, the article did get me thinking — what could kill podcasting?

I have a thought.

First, here are a couple of things that people say will kill podcasting that will not kill podcasting. The first surfaced in this interview I did a few months back on KPCC, one of L.A.’s two NPR affiliates, shortly after Spotify’s purchases of Gimlet and Anchor, and right on the heels of the Luminary announcement. With so much money being plowed into the medium, I was asked if the arrival of “big money” podcasting would squelch the voices of independent podcasters and oft-unheard voices whose stories may be crowded out by better-funded, better-marketed content. And will that not “kill” the egalitarian spirit of the Pod?

My glib answer was, “Of course not.” Those voices will only be silenced if they, themselves, stop podcasting, right? Anyone can podcast. Anyone can listen to a podcast. That’s kind of the deal with podcasting. As a medium with an almost nonexistent…

--

--

Tom Webster
OneZero

Partner, Sounds Profitable. Leading voice in podcasting, digital audio, and greyhounds