Why Hate-Creeping On Twitter Will Come Back to Bite You

The rush is probably outweighed by side effects like anger, jealousy, and lingering resentment. So be nice.

Angela Lashbrook
OneZero

--

Photo by Tayler Smith. Prop Styling by Caroline Dorn

FFans of The Bachelor love to talk about the contestants they hate. “Who do you follow in Bachelor nation even though they make your soul hurt and your eyes water and your hope for humanity dissolve?” writes u/bachninja on the popular r/thebachelor subreddit. “Mine is AshLee. The commentary is astounding. My brain. Why do I do it.”

“Yes. Omg. She seems to do absolutely nothing besides be incredibly vapid and have 8,000 ‘live’ posts a day. It doesn’t appear she has any friends or family that she hangs out with on a consistent basis,” responds u/lovemyreps. “That said, I still watch all of her lives. Same question as you: WHY do I do this to myself???? 🤷‍♀️”

It’s an excellent question. Why do we do it? Almost everyone I know hate-reads or hate-follows someone or something, whether by checking up on old friends or coworkers with whom things went up in flames or reading articles on terrible news sites, fully aware that the only real outcome of either of these activities is feeling irritated, angry, and even kind of depressed.

--

--

Angela Lashbrook
OneZero

I’m a columnist for OneZero, where I write about the intersection of health & tech. Also seen at Elemental, The Atlantic, VICE, and Vox. Brooklyn, NY.