VR and the Problem of How We Talk About Tech

A pioneering technologist on how tech should improve mankind, not replace it

Jaron Lanier
OneZero

--

Illustration: Derek Ercolano

TThe first thing you learn, working with virtual reality (VR), is that your eyes aren’t much like cameras and your ears aren’t much like microphones. You don’t perceive the world pristinely; instead, you perceive how your personal history, philosophy, culture, and cognitive habits mix with the world out there beyond your head. When people in VR social experiments respond to avatars, for instance, you can measure their racism. But you can also use VR to become more aware of how you perceive anything in the world.

When I put on a VR headset, I don’t just see a glowing digital world around me. I also get another show, because when I flash back through the years, especially to when I was in my twenties, in the 1980s. I remember what a psychedelic feeling it was the first time such a headset gained a color screen; being doubly disoriented the first time I woke up inside VR after attempting an all-nighter; feeling self-conscious being such a huge, unkempt, and hairy creature showing compact, well-mannered Japanese people how to design kitchens in VR when they visited a fancy Tokyo department store.

Some of my happiest memories are of getting apps to work for the first time, like the first surgical…

--

--

Jaron Lanier
OneZero

Jaron Lanier is a computer scientist who has written books like Ten Arguments for Deleting Your Social Media Accounts Right Now and Dawn of the New Everything.