General Intelligence

Tweaking a Tiny Pixel on Your Selfies Can Defeat Facial Recognition

And other A.I. research papers of the week

Dave Gershgorn
OneZero
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2020

--

Photo: chuttersnap/Unsplash

IfIf this week taught us anything, it’s that the brilliant shine around A.I. may finally be starting to fade. Investors are starting to realize that the reality of running an A.I. business is more than “train an algorithm, scale infinitely, profit.”

VCs at Andreessen Horowitz wrote this week that A.I. startups could be tougher than typical software investments: In addition to huge investments into cloud computing that many tech startups must make, A.I startups have the additional, hidden costs of labelling data, or the human task of looking at a picture, determining it’s a picture of a bird, and typing the word “bird.” Oh yeah, and there’s the privacy concerns too — see Alexa, Google Assistant, etc.

And even when the initial algorithm is off the ground, exporting it to make it work in other locations or countries means labelling all over again in other languages.

Maybe this means the end of free money for anyone with “.ai” in their URL.

That said, there’s still plenty of money in algorithms. I’d be remiss if I didn’t invite you to check out my new investigation into NEC, the Japanese tech giant that…

--

--

Dave Gershgorn
OneZero

Senior Writer at OneZero covering surveillance, facial recognition, DIY tech, and artificial intelligence. Previously: Qz, PopSci, and NYTimes.