The Rise of Covid-19 Temperature Scanners That Can Also Capture and Store Your Face

Just by walking by it and briefly glancing at the screen, I likely gave the Temp Tablet all it needed to recognize me

Thomas Smith
OneZero

--

Photo: Noam Galai/Getty Images

In late February, I went to an office building in San Ramon, California. I used to work there, before the pandemic, and needed to pick up some mail. Due to a standing Covid-19 public health order in the Bay Area, the building’s management had implemented mandatory mask and temperature checks at the entrance, so I expected to be scanned and evaluated.

I didn’t expect that the scan would be performed by a machine—or that consenting to a scan might enter me into a facial recognition database, which could later be used to monitor my health status and track my every movement.

As of late 2020, the building in question had stationed a staff member at the door with a handheld infrared thermometer and a roll of “Check Passed” stickers. After a friendly hello, she’d ensure that each visitor had a properly…

--

--