The Terrifying Rise of the Child Influencer and the Parents Who Profit

Parents exploit a legal loophole to profit from their children.

Zulie Rane
OneZero

--

Screenshots taken from Maya Basol, Aubrey Jade, and Kylie Feliz’s accounts respectively.

Miss Aubrey Jade could be a typical Instagram influencer. She wears stylish and trendy ‘fits; her hair is perfectly coiffed in all her photos. “I just love trench coats and I’m obsessed with this one !!” she writes in her latest post to her 177k Instagram followers.

Except for one thing: Miss Aubrey Jade is four years old.

She appears to be doing everything in her power to avoid looking like a four-year-old, though. She holds a Starbucks cup in one photo; the next has her propping her leg up and looking demurely away from the camera. She poses to accentuate hips and a bust that don’t exist yet because, again, she’s a child.

When I looked at related accounts, I was suggested Ariella Rose, another self-named mini-influencer. Big Sister Azaria (following the fashion adventures of a two-year-old and a six-year-old) was the next on the list. Kylie Feliz was a third option for me to…

--

--

Zulie Rane
OneZero

Writer and cat mom. Opinions are my own. This is my just-for-fun profile! My official Medium profile is @Zulie_at_Medium.