Thanks, Facebook, I Didn’t Want Your Brain Interface, Anyway

Facebook’s brain gear is dead, but the research and possibilities continue

Lance Ulanoff
OneZero

--

Photo by Josh Riemer on Unsplash

I do not need to post to Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or, really, any platform any more quickly than I already do. I don’t want or need a device that can read my thoughts because I’m not frustrated that sometimes I can think faster than I type or speak. Maybe I should just slow down.

So, no, I’m not sad that Facebook, more specifically its research-based Reality Labs, has decided to shift its focus from an optical-based, head-mounted thought-reading system to wrist-based neural interface devices and more intuitive AR/VR input.

When Facebook announced four years ago that it was working on a non-invasive brain-interface system, I was a little alarmed. After Facebook’s former VP of Engineering Regina Dugan, asked rhetorically, “What if you could type directly from your brain?” I likened her to Doctor Frankenstein.

To be fair to Dugan and the team of researchers at UC San Francisco, there was never a plan to dismember and rebuild psychically connected social media influencers from sundry body parts. The focus wasn’t even on reading thoughts, just impulses that could be, ultimately interpreted as words and sentences you were planning to type in a…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff
OneZero

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.