Let’s Not Regulate A.I. Out of Existence

A.I. abuse is real, but so is fear-mongering

Lance Ulanoff
OneZero

--

Photo by Hitesh Choudhary on Unsplash

Poor Artificial Intelligence, technology’s scapegoat.

It’s played the villain in innumerable films and is the boogeyman waiting to pluck your face from a crowd, take your job, put your face on someone else’s body, and carelessly launch a nuclear strike.

These concerns are so concrete that A.I. regulation is now racing far ahead of more general, and possibly more necessary, tech industry regulation (data, competition, content control, and moderation).

Earlier this week, the European Union dropped a 108-page A.I. policy document proposing sweeping A.I. regulations that attempt to touch on virtually every aspect of A.I. development. As senior analyst, A.I. Policy at the Centre for Data Innovation, Ben Muller noted in his lengthy Twitter thread, the adoption of these policies would place an enormous burden on companies (especially small ones) trying to develop fresh A.I. while complying with a dizzying array of new regulations.

While these regulations could take years to become law, tech companies around the world are probably looking at this policy document with alarm. Like the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) before it, this EU-grown regulation will have far-reaching consequences. Companies…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff
OneZero

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.