Instagram Has a Problem With the Word ‘Dyke’

Genderfluid users say the platform’s moderation system is discriminating against them

Hannah Harris Green
OneZero

--

Photo by Luke van Zyl on Unsplash

RRecently, I tried to leave what I thought was a fairly innocuous comment on my girlfriend’s Instagram. It was a photo I had taken of her during San Francisco Pride, blocks away from the Dyke March, an annual event for queer women.

My girlfriend works as an androgynous model, and the photo was of her pointing to a billboard with her face on it — part of a Pride campaign for Lyft. The moment seemed extra prideful, so I commented, “Also this was on Dyke Day!” But I was surprised when Instagram suggested I censor myself. A message popped up that read, “Are you sure you want to post this?” along with an “undo” option. I went ahead and posted, then got another message saying, “We’re asking people to rethink comments that seem similar to others that have been reported. If we made a mistake, let us know.”

Instagram has a history of censoring the word “dyke.” Early last year, the lesbian journalist Trish Bendix wrote about how Instagram was deleting posts of Zoe Leonard’s poem I Want a Dyke for President which was shared widely leading up to and after President Donald Trump’s 2016 election. This despite the fact that the United States Patent and Trademark Office officially declared dyke

--

--

Hannah Harris Green
OneZero

Hannah Harris Green is an award-winning independent journalist. She's covered healthcare, technology and more for Marketplace, Spotify, the Guardian, etc.