I Confronted Instagram Scammers About Their Plot to Steal Blue-Check Accounts

Here’s what I learned DM’ing with fake copyright phishers

Peter Slattery
OneZero

--

Photo Illustration: Save As / Medium; Source: Getty Images

Every month, a couple accounts contact me on Instagram, say they work for the platform, and threaten to delete my handle unless I click on bogus URLs designed to collect my personal information. As far as I can tell, they’re after one thing: My blue check mark.

I’m decidedly not famous, but I have a verified Instagram account thanks to a previous job. (I ran the company Instagram, among other things.) Scammers often send me sketchy messages saying my profile has violated copyright law and will be removed in 24 hours if I don’t fill out a form. I could safely ignore the scam, and I often report it to Instagram. But lately, I’ve decided to message the tricksters back to see what I can learn about the grift.

Let’s make one thing clear before we continue: Instagram does not DM users if their posts are found in violation of the company’s policies, including copyright. The offending post would instead simply be

--

--