Facebook Will Let You Take Your Data With You. But Where Would You Put It?

Facebook Data Portability Is a False Promise

Lance Ulanoff
OneZero

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Well over a decade’s worth of posts, photos, likes, groups, and comments. That’s my Facebook data, which, as of today, I have even more options for collecting and transferring to other platforms.

I imagine myself downloading it all, piling it onto a rickety wooden cart, hitching it to my trusty donkey IO, and then pulling it across the digital terrain to Google Docs. Once there, I dump it all in, and then, taking one rueful look back at the massive, disorganized pile, I slam the shed doors on it and walk away.

Facebook’s acceleration of data transfer tools and options (which has long offered ways to do so with digital media) is laudable but it all also fails to address a fundamental flaw: There’s no comparable place to put any of it.

Sure, you could put all your downloaded Facebook videos and photos in Google Photos, but that’s a private service that now has relatively strict free data storage limits. Facebook, an ad revenue-funded service, has no such limits.

I guess you could put all your Facebook posts into WordPress, publish a website and then invite people to visit, but who actually would? All your friends and relatives will still be on…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff
OneZero

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.