Apple’s Release Notes Reveal How the Pandemic Is Quietly Transforming Our Tech

Now our Memoji can wear masks too

Simon Pitt
OneZero

--

Photo: Alexi Rosenfeld/Getty Images

Sometimes, for fun, I read app release notes. I know, I know — my definition of fun is different from everyone else’s. But once a year, I’m not the only one as technology aficionados around the world join in, poring over the notes Apple releases as part of its Worldwide Developers Conference.

You can tell a lot about a company from its release notes. There are the companies that detail every change, no matter how minor, and there are those that phone it in: “Bug fixes and performance improvements” every time. There are comedic notes: “All bugs that were fixed in this release were too small for the eye to see or too fiddly for human words to describe.” And there are the weird ones. Dwarf Fortress, I’m looking at you: “Stopped elves from being pleased with unethical trades,” “Made all undead respectful of one another,” “Cleaned up the bear situation.”

Release notes are a strange artifact. For an industry preoccupied with standards, structure, and order, they offer a rare moment of freedom. There are conventions, sure, but within reason, you’re free to write what you want. Tumblr’s release notes were once a short story about the making of the app. I like things like that. It’s a reminder that behind all this…

--

--

Simon Pitt
OneZero

Media techie, software person, and web-stuff doer. Head of Corporate Digital at BBC, but views my own. More at pittster.co.uk